Babies…popping up like tulips!

Seems like spring is when I start to see babies popping up all over like tulips!  I haven’t had a wee one in quite a while which makes me even more eager to sew something up for new arrival.  One of my favorite things to make are little baby booties. They are just almost edible they are so deliciously cute.

12.18.12 010

You don’t need a lot of fabric and they are relatively quick to make.  I used this tutorial but there are a TON of them out there (here is another link with multiple options). When I gift them I usually pair them up with some burp clothes, bibs or a handful of hand embroidered onesies.

These took me about an hour and a half to complete, from start to finish, but it’s hard to say exactly because I worked on them just a little at a time.  I used these amazing fabricsthat arrived in the shop the other day from Birch Fabrics (here and here).  These are organic so they are easy on even the most sensitive baby skin.

12.18.12 004

I used a hand sewn snaps even though the tutorial calls for Velcro.  In this case, my button is decorative but you could make a button hole and use that as your closure if you wish.

12.18.12 005

There is a little bit of hand sewing involved, however it’s on the inside of the booties so no one is really going to see it and, of course, there is always the option of hand sewing the snap fasteners.

DON’T forget (like I did!) to turn the base of the bootie pattern over or you will end up with two left feet.

I’d love to try a few different styles.

Do you have a pattern you’ve made and would recommend?

One thought on “Babies…popping up like tulips!

  1. Pingback: Sweet baby gifts | Sew Fine Fabric

Leave a Reply

