The oh-so addicting reversible bag

I’m always looking for new and inspirational projects. And when I’m not doing that I am likely looking for new and lovely fabrics. Thank goodness my obsessions coincide!! A while back, I discovered these gorgeous home decor prints from Premier Prints and could not wait to get my hands on them for the fabric store. I ordered them immediately and they are now in stock!

Image

When they arrived I stared at them for a long while…ok days. To be honest I sometimes, in the quiet of night, when the family is all tucked in and cozy, pour myself a glass of wine and stare at fabric. Eventually, I remind myself that I need to stop staring and start sewing. A couple of days later I remembered I had pinned this reversible bag tutorial on Pinterest that would be perfect. So, perhaps, all that staring pays off after all…or at least that is what I tell myself. 🙂

Here is the tutorial, from Very Purple Person.
It was pretty simple and you can make one too! The first bag took me about an hour and a half of leisurely sewing. As I made more I found that they took about an hour each.

You can find the fabrics I used and more here.

I made a slight adjustment to make turning the bag right side out a little less frustrating. On step 3 I sewed three of the straps up to where she indicated in the tutorial and left one strap open just after the turn. Here is about where she suggests you stop. Do this for three straps.

Image

And here is where I stopped on the fourth strap.

Image

Otherwise, it was too difficult for me to pull the bulky fabric through the incredibly small hole. Perhaps it was because I used home decor weight fabric instead of lighter fabric. Or perhaps it is my “I want everything to be easier” attitude…. This adjustment did not make it any more difficult to complete the bag when top stitching but made it SO much easier to turn the bag. I like easier. 🙂

And of course I couldn’t make just one.

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

In fact, I am sure there are more to come.

Half a yard each of coordinating fabrics will be plenty to make a pretty bag. So go ahead and make one. You can do it!

Happy sewing,

Jodi

9 thoughts on “The oh-so addicting reversible bag

  1. Pingback: April Sew Along – Yoga Mat Bags TWO Ways | Sew Fine Fabric

  2. Hey Jodi. I love the bag and have started making it, but appear to be “stuck”.I have the 4 pieces cut and the darts are sewn. The directions are a little vague after that. I’m wondering if you might be interested in taking a few more pictures of what happens after you have the darts done. I know the same type fabric goes wrong side together, but it doesn’t say how far to sew the bag…do you go all the way up the outside of the bag to the top of the strap….
    I’d really love to “get” this, but I think I’m gonna need more pictures. Do you think its possible to mabey “whip” up another bag and give us more details???

    thanks bunches.
    Debora Cadene.

    • Hey Debora! Glad you’re making one! Can’t wait to see it. I’d love to shoot more pictures and expand on the process. If you can wait a few days I will put up a post this weekend sometime. There happens to be 3 cut out and ready to sew in my TO DO pile. Once you see the pictures it will help and you will be done in no time! Before I get to it let me know if there are any other questions you might have. ~ Jodi

      • Ok…I think I just squealed out loud. Thank you so much Jodi. I hate being stuck. Its not like I sew all the time, (ok..hardly ever…) but I sit and stare at the material, and at the directions and thus remain stuck. Here’s what I’ve done so far. I grabbed two dang ugly pieces of fabric, because this one was for practice to see if I could do it. Half is yellow, half is blue. The darts were sewn first, then I pinned the bottom of the purse together (yellow to yellow and blue to blue) and the confusion began right about here….I didn’t know where to begin or end the sewing. Do I start at the top of the strap and go all the way around, do I just do the bottom, where would that start?? I didn’t know, so only sewed the bottom of the purse and up about 2″ on the outside of the strap. I did that to the yellow then blue. When I went to put them inside each other…I further confused myself, so resorted to a glass of wine and called you.THEN I thought I had to maybe sew up the entire outside of the strap..so did that, and now I am taking it all apart cause I’m pretty dang sure that isn’t how its supposed to be either.

        I am totally looking forward to your tutorial, and I’m gonna pretend its just for me….:) In the meantime, I am going to find some really nice fabric for my first of many bags. I absolutely LOVE the material you’ve used.

        Thank you again Jodi,
        Debbie
        Atikokan, Ontario

      • Hi Jodi…..were you still going to do another post for the reversible bags, or did I miss it?

        Debbie.

      • Hey Debbie! I have a more detailed post on the bag in the works but life stepped up and got in the way a bit this week putting a delay on it. Can you wait a week or so? If not drop me a note at sewfinefabricblog@gmail.com with your email address and we can chat about where you are stuck.

Leave a Reply

