Ombré quilt

The V and Co. ‘Simply Color’ collection arrived in the shop a while back and included were these lovely ombre solids.

il_570xN.410659566_nsqi il_570xN.410684512_ahzp

When I came across this tutorial on Pinterest I was inspired!

It was pretty simple, even for a novice quilter like me.  Along with the duties of running the house, the shop and helping out at my daughter’s school, I was still able to sneak in enough time to cut and finish the top over the course of one day.

quilt ironing board 008

I wanted to make mine in the grey because Vanessa did not show that color in her presentation.  I knew immediately that this lovely Solid in Mustard would be the pop of color it needed for the binding to make it truly interesting.

2.17.13 004

My favorite part was how easy it was using one fabric to create the ombré effect instead of searching for the proper gradients and thus needing to make sure they all blended perfectly.

The only thing I adjusted on this tutorial was the size.  She suggested nine rows of nine squares.  I did nine rows of eight squares.  Um, not really on purpose…   But hey, now it’s unique, right?

I ended up hand stitching the binding which took about two and a half hours.  I used this tutorial for a quick refresher on the technique. I just downloaded a movie after the kiddo was in bed, grabbed a glass of Chardonnay and was done in seemingly no time.  This happens to be my first time and though it went faster than expected, my hands were sore when it was all said and done. Perhaps breaking it up over two sessions would have been more prudent.

quilt ironing board 005

(Don’t you love the chevrons on the back?!)

I was intrigued by this one as well.  Might see it as the March sew along!  My daughter would love one in orange!

Which color ombre is your favorite?

Jodi

Leave a Reply

