Quick Striped Blanket

Spring has sprung in the shop (even though it is still snowing outside!) with so many bright and cheerful colors!
With all these happy colors I was understandably eager to get to work right away, but first, I had to find a place to put it all! Once it was all stored, photographed and posted for sale in the shop, I had one of those quiet, nocturnal sewing sessions that, when it goes well, makes it so much easier to tolerate lugging myself through the following day. I had previously pinned this little ‘lovey’ on Pinterest and now used it as inspiration.
I needed a quick gift for a new baby, so I opted to make this a pillowcase-style blanket, instead of a quilt (using just minimal quilting and skipping the binding).
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
I backed mine with this incredibly soft organic fleece from the shop; super buttery soft.
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
Do you want to make one too?
You’ll need:
1/2 yard white cotton
1/4 yard each Circle Stitch print in red, orange, yellow, green, teal and grey
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
1-1/2 yards organic fleece for backing
batting
What to cut:
SIX 1.5″ strips of the white  cotton by the length of the fabric
ONE 7″ strip EACH of Circle Stitch in Orange, Yellow, Green and Teal
ONE 8″ strip EACH of Circle Stitch in Red and Grey *
(*These two colors are cut a little larger to absorb the seam allowance when attaching the backing, as well as to account for any squaring of the top when the time came.
Sewing:
Start by sewing a white strip to each print and then assembling them, or sew them in succession. Press seam toward the colored print.
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
I pressed as I went, because that’s how I sew, but have heard from many experienced quilters you can skip the pressing until the end if you prefer.
Once complete, I folded the blanket top in half each way and used my large ruler to make all of the edges even and straight.
Then I laid the batting on the work table (use the floor if you don’t have a large work surface), laid the fleece (fuzzy side up) on top of it and then placed the top of the blanket face down on top of those. Make sure you have all those little wrinkles out before you pin; then pin away.
I did a rough cut around the edges. Since you have made the edges of your blanket straight and wonderful (right?), you can use the edge of the blanket top as your guide while stitching. I like a 1/2″ seam allowance myself.  But it isn’t really important, as long you are consistent all the way around.
When I sewed them all together I left an 18″ opening and sewed around the rest of the blanket. Once the sewing was done, I then trimmed all of the edges down to 1/2″  from the seam, except for where the opening for the turn was;  I left that longer and trimmed the corners. I turned it right side out, used my super high tech….orphan chopstick… as a poker to make the corners square, and pressed all the way around. Once all was pressed I top stitched around the top edges and along the print side of each strip . The end result is a kind of modern, cheater quilt in a fraction of the time of a traditional quilt.
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
As I have mentioned in previous posts, I like faster better.  The thing I love most about this type of blanket is it can be broken down into smaller increments of time if, like many of us, you are only able to work in half hour sittings. It’s also quick and easy just to pick up where you left off.
Circle Stitch Stripe Blanket
If you need more instruction or courage to give this a try, just drop me a note!
Happy sewing,
Jodi

One thought on “Quick Striped Blanket

  1. Pingback: March Sew Along: Week 4 | Sew Fine Fabric

Leave a Reply

