Quickest Quilt Yet: Reversible Apples, and Barns and Sheep OH MY!

misc 012

My daughter has been visiting a nearby farm, first for summer horse camp and now for weekly lessons, for a few years now.  The owners are a husband-wife duo we have come to absolutely adore.  The owner’s daughter just had her first baby.  Back in August.  , Between the end of summer activities and the back to school chaos (right??) I ended up a bit behind on a gift to celebrate the new arrival.

This little quilt was the perfect project for immediate satisfaction (and last minute gift giving!).
From start to finish the top took a total of … five minutes… to cut even edges. The cheater print, Apples Barn Cow,  from the organic Free Range collection on the front made a quick start.  Bah Bah Black Sheep on the back and Polka Oot in Black for the binding round out the rest of the quilt.
When it was done I realized….it was reversible.  BONUS!
  misc 017misc 014
I drew the lines on the quilt diagonally in both directions with my beloved Frixion pen and sewed the back and front together with the batting sandwiched in between.  An hour later of easy sewing I had a quilt ready for the binding.   Seriously….an hour!
Three episodes of Project Runway later and the binding was hand sewn on!
All told, the quilt took about an hour of assembly, creating the binding and behind the sewing machine and just over two hours of hand stitching.  Not bad for a completed quilt!
 misc 030misc 031
I didn’t write up a full tutorial but if anyone wants more information just let me know.
Any one else have a QUICK quilt to share?
Linked up with Crazy Mom Quilts for a Friday Finish and Quilt Matters.

5 thoughts on “Quickest Quilt Yet: Reversible Apples, and Barns and Sheep OH MY!

  1. I like projects like this. As much as we would love to create masterpieces all the time, it simply is not possible, and making quick gifts like these mean that we are able to give nice handmade items to people we would not necessarily otherwise. I have made countless versions of this quilt and they have always been well received. I love your choice of fabric and the binding goes splendidly with both sides. Good job!

  2. Thank Dominique for your kind words! I couldn’t agree more that there just isn’t enough time to make something complex for every project!. However, I have learned to appreciate how simple can be beautiful as well. Sometimes it’s fun to let the print on the fabric be the star of the show!

Leave a comment